NHS 50
Your NHS
Health Help
an a to z of the nhs
A & E Services
Ambulance Services
Blood donors
Children in Hospital
Clinical trials
Community Health
G.U.M. Clinics
General Practitioners
Health Care Abroad
Health Information Serv.
R & D
Self Help Groups
Waiting for treatment


'Nursing Qualifications'

Nurses in the United Kingdom are all Registered Nurses. Registered Nurses can either be qualified under Part 1 of the Register, in which case they are known as Enrolled Nurses, or if they have undergone a longer professional training are known as RGNs (Registered General Nurses), or if they have taken an appropriate specialist training as RMNs (Registered Mental Nurses), RNMHs (Registered Nurses for the Mentally Handicapped) or RSCNs (Registered Sick Children's Nurses).

Professional training for nurses does not stop after obtaining their Registered or Part 1 Registered qualification. Enrolled Nurses now have the opportunity to take 'conversion courses' to upgrade from a Part 1 Qualification to Registered Nurse. In addition, many nurses take post registration courses in particular specialties eg. cancer nursing, care of the elderly etc.

top next

Copyright © 1998, NHS